American Academy of Anesthesiologist Assistants Board of Directors

1st Quarter Meeting, Sunday, January 21, 2018 4 p.m. EST by teleconference

Minutes

Participation:

Officers (Executive Committee): Nick Davies, CAA, President, presiding; Gina Scarboro, CAA, Immediate Past-President; Laura Knoblauch, CAA, President-Elect; Maggie Riffel, CAA, Secretary; and Gregg Mastropolo, CAA, Treasurer.

Directors: Daniel Mesaros, CAA, Director #2; Joy Rusmisell, CAA, Director #6; Carie Twichell, CAA, Director #7; Nikki Block, CAA, District #1; Robert Wagner, CAA, Director #5; and William Buntin, CAA, Director #4, and Tim Goodridge, CAA, District #1.

Committee Chairs: Samantha Yakey Evankovich, CAA (Annual Meeting); Chris Wade, CAA (Communication); Layne DiLoreto, CAA (Legislative); Jana McAlister, CAA (Practice); Sherry Cucci, CAA (Membership); Katie Noel, SAA (Student); and Trine Vic, CAA (Legislative Fund).

Guest: Deborah Rusy, MD, ASA Representative to AAAA.

Executive Staff: James E. "Jet" Toney, Executive Director; Felicia Kenan, CMP, MPA, Executive Operations Manager; Jeremy Betts, Director of State Affairs.

Note: President may add or remove items from the agenda prior to convening.

Agenda Topic (Packet Page Number in Parenthesis)	Presenter	Discussion	Action Taken	Next Steps
Call to Order, Quorum and Minutes				
Call to Order	Nick Davies	Call to order: 15:02		
2. Attendance towards Quorum	Maggie Riffel	Quorum established		
3. Acceptance of Agenda	Nick Davies	Motion made, seconded to adopt the agenda as	Motion passed.	A memorial article will

Agenda Topic (Packet Page Number in Parenthesis)	Presenter	Discussion	Action Taken	Next Steps
		presented with the addition of a discussion of a memorial to the late Chuck Canarella, CAA.		be published in the 1 st Qtr <i>The Anesthesia Record</i> .
4. Acceptance of (October, 2017) 4th QTR 2017 Board Meeting Minutes Acceptance of (December 2017) Special Board Teleconference Minutes	Riffel	A motion was made, seconded to accept the 4 th QTR Board Meeting Minutes with an additional entry noting approval of a \$10,000 increase in compensation to Cornerstone Communications Group for FY 2017 as approved in a special called teleconference in December 2017.	Motion passed.	
Notifications				
5.				
Executive, Financial and Membership				
6. Financial Report	Gregg Mastropolo	A motion was made, seconded to accept the report.	Motion passed.	An e-Vote will be conducted at a later date to approve a CPA firm to conduct an audit of AAAA financials.
7. Membership Report	Sherry Cucci	See report.		
8. President-Elect Report	Laura Knoblauch	Stated support will be provided for transition of new chairs as well as for state academy leaders.		
 9. Executive Directors Update Changes in Membership Strategy 	Jet Toney	Stated Cornerstone will begin recruitment of an experienced membership manager. Emphasized importance of communication from all AAAA members with HQ staff.		
Committee Reports				
10. Executive Committee Report/President Update	Davies	A motion was made, seconded to approve the Executive Committee recommendation that	Motion passed.	

Agenda Topic (Packet Page Number in Parenthesis)	Presenter	Discussion	Action Taken	Next Steps
Approval of Director		Tim Goodridge succeed Nikki Block who resigned from Board service mid-term.		
11. Finance Committee Report	Mastropolo	See item 6 above.		
12. Annual Meeting	Samantha Evankovich (Yakey)	Stated the committee has begun searching for 2019 speakers and a 2020 conference location.		
 13. Communications Newsletter editorial board proposal 	Knoblauch, Davies	Members expressed consent for the adoption of an editorial board approach to determining which topics will be published in each quarterly newsletter.	Unanimous consent granted.	The development of the editorial board is a work in progress and subject to further development and refining.
14. Federal Affairs	Mastropolo	See report.		
15. Governance CommitteeHonor Awards & Emeritus	Gina Scarboro	A motion was made, seconded to select Dr. Richard Henry to receive the Distinguished Service by a Physician Award.	Motion passed.	
16. Legislative	Layne DiLoreto	See report.		
17. Legislative Fund Sub CommitteeMinimum Funding Amount	Trine Vik Maggie Riffel Jeremy Betts	A motion was made, seconded to set the minimum contribution to the Legislative Fund at \$5 per transaction.		
18. Membership	Sherry Cucci	See report.		
19. Practice Committee	Jana McAlister	Stated a Texas pain group out-of-network issue has been resolved.		
20. Students	Katie Noel	See report.		
ASA Committees Reports				
21. COOH	Daniel Mesaros	See report.		
22. Communications	Ty Townsend	See report.		

Agenda Topic (Packet Page Number in Parenthesis)	Presenter	Discussion	Action Taken	Next Steps
23. Governmental Affairs	Scarboro	See report		
24. Membership	Laura Knoblauch	See report		
25. Quality Management and Departmental Administration	Robert Wagner	See report		Mr. Wagner will attend in-person meeting in March.
26. Practice Management	Carie Twichell	A motion was made and seconded to approve a link from the ASA website to the AAAA website.	Motion passed.	
External Liaison Reports				
27. American College of Surgeons	Daniel Mesaros	See report		
28. CAAHEP	Jenn Stever	See report		
E-vote				
29. E-votes conducted since last Board Meeting	Davies	See packet.		
Old Business				
New Business				
30. Chuck Canarella Memorial	Wagner	A motion was made, seconded to approve a \$200 memorial contribution or flowers in honor of the life and contributions of Chuck Canarella to the AA profession. (see Item 3 explanation).	Motion passed.	
31. Adjourn	Davies	President Davies adjourned the meeting at 16:24 EST.		